Benefits and Pitfalls of Social Media for Job Seekers

Posted: June 3, 2010 in Helpful Professional Notes

Whenever we talk to someone about social media and the job market there are some good stories and some not so good. I feel that we need to be able to see both sides of the spectrum, and realize that every tool has positive and negative features. Here, we are looking at the pros and cons of social media.

 

PROS

It’s where society is headed  -According to Forrester Research, 80% of young adults use social networks. Social media is the way of the future in communications, marketing, advertising and human resources. So the effectiveness of this meduim is useful.
Popular medium- With over 500,000 new members on social networks each day, social media give one person the abiliy to reach out to almost any organization that they want because almost all of the major organizations use it    – Lends easily to mass communication- Over a million company’s use social media as part of thier marketing stategy, which means that getting in touch with them for job opportunities is that much easier.
– Global- There are no geographical boundries on social media. You can seek opportunity a local organization or across seas you are just a couple “clicks” away
Accessible from anywhere – in todays world all you need a internet connection the digital world. Once you have that connection the sky is the limit when it comes to social media.
– Open to anyone- Any one can use it so navigation is simple and easy to use.
– Build relationships- Building relationships with social media is one most important reason’s why job seekers should use this medium. With social media sites like twitter, monster.com, and LinkIn the possiblities of networking are endless.

CONS:
Ads & Spam: Spam can be disgiused as job openings and you can unknowingly sign up for spam while applying for an application.
Complicated features: Some features on some sites make it harder to navigate
Global applications: Lead to a loss in exclusivity
Impersonal  Verbal communications skills aren’t exercised
Redundant  Multiple networks focused on the same topic

Of course, a lot of these “pros” and “cons” are subjective – what some see as a con may be a pro for others. And every social network will have its own unique pros and cons, depending on its audience, its application, whether it is private or public, and many other factors.

Comments
  1. marielorelei says:

    I was very surprised to read that Forrester Research has determined that 80% of young adults use social networks. I always figured that the number would be quite significant but I never dreamed that it would be so high.

    I really wish that the computer geniuses in the world would figure out a way around bots and spam. I remember being 13 years old and getting spam emails and thinking that there would come a time when spam would not exist. I guess we’re still no quite there yet.

    The issue of social media causing verbal communications skills to be neglected is being solved with social media applications like Skype. It allows for people to keep in touch via written chat conversations, live voice conversations without video, or live video conversations.

  2. […] Benefits and Pitfalls of Social Media for Job Seekers by Phillip […]

  3. laur22 says:

    I can’t believe that there are 500,000 new members on social media each day! I know there are billions of people in the world, but that is such a crazy statistic to me. It is obviously where society is headed, and it is important for people in communications and public relations to implement this tool into their practices. I do agree that social media can have complicated features. It is almost the end of the semester, and I still have trouble figuring out how to format my blog sometimes! I also think it is a con that verbal skills can’t be shown, unless it is through a podcast or webcast.

  4. […] “Benefits and Pitfalls of Social Media for Jobseekers” by Phillip […]

  5. Hi Phillip! I agree that social media has many good aspects as well as bad aspects. I also agree that the good and bad parts of social media are based mostly on opinion. Personally, I really enjoy social media. I love using Facebook to connect with friends from high school who I haven’t seen in a while. I also really enjoy Twitter and I find that Twitter tends to be where I get some of my national and world news from. For example, I learned about the earthquakes in Chili and the latest one in China from Twitter before I heard about them anywhere else. It’s amazing what we can learn from social media. However, I understand that the “cons” of social media that you listed are pretty big downfalls. Advertisements and spam are beyond annoying and social media does feel very impersonal.

  6. Jeremy says:

    I haven’t really come across anyone who thinks it is a bad idea to keep up with social media. It’s good to be aware of it, even if you don’t necessarily agree with it. I like how you examine both sides of the spectrum and explain pros and cons of social media. “Social media is the way of the future in communications, marketing, advertising and human resources. So the effectiveness of this meduim is useful.” This couldn’t be more true. When I first got to Georgia Southern, all I had was Facebook; now I use several different forms of social media and have met so many people in the process. Not only will they help with networking, but they also help improve your writing skills if you tend to them properly.

Leave a Reply

