Internships “The Golden Ticket”

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Public Relations Industry Notes

As I come up to my last couple months of school I’ve looked back on my 4 years here at GSU. I must say I’ve learned a lot that I would like to share with anybody who is willing to listen about internships.

Internships Can Be Seen as a Blueprint to Your Future One the most important things that you could do while you are in college is to get an internship.  Internships give the first hand experience that a classroom setting can’t give you. Although classroom setting is an important phase of the learning process but for me, the things I learned from my two internships (GSU Media Relations and University Directories) will stick with me for a lot longer than.  In my opinion, you learn more from an internship because you become apart of an organization in an  industry you wish to learn more about.  By becoming apart of the organization you can find your niche within that organization that may become what you make a living on. In my case, with my first internship for GSU Media Relations I found out that I had talent at designing informational documents like brochures and flyers, which led me onto my second internship with University Directories as an outside advertisement sales representative .  My second internship really helped me see how important it was to communicate effectively with business and organization heads. I really felt comfortable with the seemingly “new way” of communication that I was being exposed to. These experiences have definitely given me a better look at my personal strengths and has also driven me to pursue a career in communications.

Internships Are What You Make Them….Its a Practice Run take it Seriously One of the biggest mistakes many of colleagues have made in the past was giving up an internships because it was not paid. Although paid internships give you more incentive to work unpaid internships are just as important. Both have the ability to springboard you into your dream career

Do Your Homework When Searching For a Company… This simple task may be one of the most underrated tips when it comes to the internship interview process. Companies are looking for interns that are eager to learn more about their organization while gaining experiences from the industry. Plus by doing this you can give yourself an idea of exactly how well you can fit the organizations purpose and objectives.

GET OUT THERE!!!! Closed Mouths Don’t Get Feed!!!! Another mistake a lot of people make in looking for an internship is where and how they look for available targets. DON’T BE SELECTIVE!!!!! Every company is looking to improve their goods and services so if you think you can help or you would like to learn how to ASK THEM FOR OPPORTUNITIES. Half of the time companies will give you a chance because you showed enough confidence to come up and  ask for what you want. In the job market its very hard to get noticed if you don’t make an effort to be. So IF YOU HAVE A TALENT SHOWCASE IT SOME OUT THERE NEEDS IT.

Comments
  1. brittlindsay says:

    Finding your niche in a field is vital to how long you will last. Public relations is a high paced field so the burn out rate is high. Discovering what you are interested in helps you remain engaged to the field. This field has many categories within it and it is important to find out what fits you best. It is great that you found what suits you through an internship. I found my interest through an internship and working with an organization on campus. Overall I feel that people discover their interest through out of the classroom experiences. Like you siad, internships can teach us things that we cannot learn in a classroom.

  2. […] Internships “The Golden Ticket” by Phillip: Finding your niche in a field is vital to how long you will last. Public relations is a high paced field so the burn out rate is high. Discovering what you are interested in helps you remain engaged to the field. This field has many categories within it and it is important to find out what fits you best. It is great that you found what suits you through an internship. I found my interest through an internship and working with an organization on campus. Overall I feel that people discover their interest through out of the classroom experiences. Like you said, internships can teach us things that we cannot learn in a classroom. […]